Accountability … in the Garden

I was thinking about my experiences and encounters recently, which have been vastly different from those I had in that picturesque little corner of the Garden where I used to live … yes, the one with all the exotic wild animals.

Anyway, sooner or later, something has to change, and so began a new life in a corner of the Garden that is not quite a town … not quite a village, but certainly much more filled with human beings than animals.

I got to this corner of the Garden and thought it was time to build me a little place to work during the day – my new office.  It was a journey into the unknown because not only was I getting something built for the first time in my life, I was doing it the hard way – acting as my own contractor and getting different teams to build different elements – with the help of a very kind engineer thankfully.  It is almost done, by the Grace of God, but not without its challenges.

You would think that doing the finishing would be the biggest challenge, but in this case, plastering the walls was it.  Aside from plastering over many sockets completely and not wanting to have anything to do with rectification of the same, one thing struck me about the leader of this particular team.

He laughed at my system to keep track of what materials were taken out of the store, and to have whoever took materials out sign for it… and then 2 things hit me all at once.  They hit me so hard I reeled and nearly fell over.

‘I had seen this before!’  This was a classic symptom of leadership accountability failure. The first thing that hit me was that the leader of the team was the source of his team’s behavior.  As a leader is, so shall his/her subjects be. This is age old wisdom.

The second thing that hit me was that he did not want to be held accountable for anything: neither the materials and any issues that arose with their use, hence the resistance to records and requisite mockery of the system to uphold it; nor the workmanship of the work that was being done, hence the complaints about water, tools, corrections and everything relating to the work.  It had to be someone else’s responsibility as far as he and his entire team were concerned.

As I slowly recovered from the shock, the question that kept cycling through my mind was: ‘how did I end up with this in my project?!’

No, he never owned up to his responsibilities, but that is a different problem.  Today I just ask the questions … How many times do we pass the buck of our failures to someone else?  How many times do we fear that we will fail and begin making a fuss even before the project has begun?  How often do we do something that we don’t really want to, and so do a shoddy job just to get over with it?

Yes, we are all different, and we do have different skills and levels of understanding of different things. That is why it is so important to find our true talents and passion (not hobby), and make sure we are honest with ourselves and strive to be the best we can be at everything that we seek to do. It is only by God’s grace that we can find this place where we can be the best we could be … for He knows how He created us.

I turn today to God to guide me along the way even as I look inside myself and work hard to make sure I am following the right way.  I turn to God to guide me in being honest about who I am and what I am capable of doing, first with myself, and then with others around me.

Will you join me?

A different place ... in the Garden

A different place … in the Garden

Come … walk with me in the Garden

Copyright © 2012, Ophelia Swai. All Rights Reserved.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Accountability … in the Garden

  1. Kennedy Gurusya December 19, 2012 at 11:21 am Reply

    For any success accountability is necessary and you cannot escape even in the life to come , so We are called to be honest for what We are doing.

Leave a Reply

