Following the right path … in the Garden

What is your intention? To make money or to serve God in your daily work? I know it is a tough question… to answer… and to reconcile the answer within yourself.

Do you remember the Dikdik that trusted me enough to turn back to his meal under the false marula tree as I walked into my home less than 5 meters away? He was only able to do this because he had developed an understanding that I had no negative intention towards him… after many days of watching me as I walked in and out of my home in my little corner of the Garden. Only then could he develop the trust he needed to continue with his meal in peace… that trust which we all need to be able live with those around us in peace.

Trusting Dikdik ... in the Garden

Trusting Dikdik ... in the Garden

So I ask you again: “What is your intention? To take care of your spouse and children in the light of God or to have people around you that can take care of your needs and desires?”

“What is your intention? To make the most amount of money you can make, or to provide a service that will help someone and make their life better than it is?”

“What is your intention? To be recognized as a person of great fame, or to share your talent in a way that makes another’s heart sing with joy at the gift that God gives through your talent?”

No… I do not mean that you should do what you do for free… I just ask what your intention is as you do it.

So often we go astray. We seek to do God’s will, but fail to recognize our heart’s true intention. As we forge ahead in the path of life, we often find we have made a mistake and should have gone a different way… like a wildebeest so intent on chewing on his favorite grass that he does not realize the rest of the migration has left his path and gone another way … leaving him alone and more vulnerable to prey than he could ever have intended.

Vulnerable ... in the Garden

Vulnerable ... in the Garden

It is not often we stop to ask ourselves this before any action we take… and so often we find ourselves walking on a path that is in conflict with God. So often we find that our intention to serve God has ended up putting us in a bad place… because our hearts and minds were not in synch … we sought to do one thing, but did another, because we had not understood our true intention in choosing the path to take.

Yet, it is only through God that we can truly find our way to that peace and lasting happiness that we all seek so passionately… even as we fulfill His will in someone else’s life.

It is only through God, that we can forge a path that builds us yet also builds those around us … through the love that God fills in our hearts and lives… that ever steadily grows and strengthens us to have the right heart and the right intention in all things … and that grants us a true life of peace with those around us in His great and beautiful Garden.

Do you know your true intention? I know I do not want to find myself lost and vulnerable to prey because I did not know my true intention and did not make sure to steer it correctly. I know that by steering my heart towards the right intention of loving God with all my heart, soul, mind and strength and loving my neighbor as myself in all my works, I will have taken the first step towards fulfilling God’s purpose in my life and receiving His blessing of lasting peace.

So … I am doing my best to have the right intention in my daily work and life ahead, and walk ever more fully in God’s light in the Garden.

Will you join me?

Come … walk with me in the Garden.

A new sunrise ... in the Garden

A new sunrise ... in the Garden

Copyright © 2011, Ophelia Swai. All Rights Reserved.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Following the right path … in the Garden

  1. Martin bikuri December 5, 2011 at 3:24 pm Reply

    Thanks Ophelia

  2. Njeri January 4, 2012 at 8:34 am Reply

    Beautiful words!

Leave a Reply

