Inner Strength … in the Garden

 
Mellow and gentle ... at the crack of dawn ... in the Garden
Mellow and gentle … at the crack of dawn … in the Garden

It is not often that I get to sit and write a story when I am away from my little corner of the Garden.  Yet it is at times like these that I realize just how beautiful that little corner really is.  I have often wondered what I would write about if it were not for that beautiful corner of the Garden, and all the love and lessons it gives to me.  Yet, here I am, filled with love and trusting that by God’s grace, there will be a lesson in this experience of life for me still.

The corner of the Garden that I am usually in is very mellow, and gentle.  Don’t get me wrong … the humans are rushing about in typical fashion, but all the while, the tall giraffe looks on… bemused at all the goings on… then dashes off if any human gets too close.  The elephants go on about their business, not caring very much for what the humans are doing… until the humans begin to make a noise, at which point they pointedly move away, almost running from the distraction that the noise represents.  You see, elephants are really and truly gentle creatures, great and strong though they may be… as gentle as all strong people should be.  Gentle because they need not show that they have strength, for they know they have it and can use it if need be… only if need be, and for the right reasons if need be.

Strong yet gentle ... in the Garden

Strong yet gentle ... in the Garden

Would it not be wonderful if we all recognized our incredible strength within and did not feel the need to prove it?  Can you imagine what impact this would bring to our wonderful Garden?  Can you imagine what it would be like if no leaders felt they have to prove their strength by maiming and killing those who do not have their kind of strength … if no leaders felt the need to prove how strong and powerful they can be?

Wouldn’t it be wonderful in the Garden if more leaders would recognize their inner strengths and use them positively to lead those they lead towards prosperity?  Would it not be wonderful if they did this rather than spend their life trying to prove how strong they can be through beating other leaders down using every means available to them?

What about the parents who use one another and their children as verbal and physical punching bags? Wouldn’t it be wonderful if they recognized their inner strengths and realized they did not need to beat anyone down to prove themselves to be men or women of power?  Would it not be wonderful if they would instead use their God given strengths to build their families and raise their children lovingly in God’s light?

Maybe this is too simplistic… and I am clearly only scratching the surface on this … yet I feel that just taking that one step of accepting your strength within, knowing it, understanding it, and then using it positively, can bring such immense change in our corners of the Garden that all the other sources of pain could more easily begin to fall away as well.

I know I still have a long way to go, but as I walk gently, and steadily through the Garden, I believe, I will find a place of true peace … and even if events around me seem aimed at creating unnecessary distractions in my life, I can chose to walk away with God to guide me as to the best path to take in peace. 

From God’s creation – the elephant – I have learnt another wonderful lesson … to walk away from noise, in search of true peace… and to understand my strengths, be confident in them, and use them positively for the glory of God, for the good of my soul, for the love of God, and for the love of my neighbor as myself.

I am making a choice for peace today… will you join me?

Oh so beautiful ... sunset glowing in peace ... in the Garden

Oh so beautiful ... sunset glowing in peace ... in the Garden

Come … walk with me in the Garden

Copyright © 2011, Ophelia Swai. All Rights Reserved.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Inner Strength … in the Garden

  1. pause September 17, 2011 at 2:22 pm Reply

    nice pictures!!
    http://rodposse.com/

    • daphinas September 17, 2011 at 2:39 pm Reply

      Thank you!

      Glad you like them!

  2. Joshua September 18, 2011 at 8:02 am Reply

    Good article, I’m highly inspired by the figurative language you normally use. However, I doubt if I got what you meant in this post. “Are you leaving that garden?!”

  3. Martin bikuri September 19, 2011 at 2:50 pm Reply

    Inspiring and good lessons -Martin Bikuri

  4. Martin bikuri September 19, 2011 at 2:51 pm Reply

    Great lessons -Martin Bikuri

  5. shrinkingthecamel September 28, 2011 at 10:03 am Reply

    This is beautiful, Ophelia. “Would it not be wonderful if we all recognized our incredible strength within and did not feel the need to prove it? ”

    That is one of the most powerful and inspiring questions I have seen in a long time.

    Blessings to you.

Leave a Reply

