Making time … in the Garden

It was a stark reminder of God’s mercy when I woke up this morning and found safari ants all over one corner of my bedroom. Thankfully they had not climbed up my bed… one bite is not a very nice experience and multiple tiny little bits all over the place is an even worse experience that I will not dwell on.

Yet I cannot help but remember that they and their specie kin are the masters of delegation… the queen reproduces, the gatherers go out and search for food, the builders build… none does everything, and every one of them does their very best at what they are supposed to do to keep the colony living in peace… ever at work and ever growing and ever keeping any threat at bay.

As the rain patters down on thirsty soil outside, I begin to think about the many things I have decided I can do myself… because I am the only one I can trust to do it correctly… because everyone else is so busy… because I have not had time to show them how to do it… giving myself excuses and more excuses, as I do my very best to force the time envelope to stretch ever more each day.

What makes me think I am the only one with the talent to do anything?  What makes me think ‘they’ can’t make the time to do something for me if I let them know the value of it?  Most important of all, what if I taught someone how to do it and then never had to do it again?  Would that not free me up for other things?  Is that not a better choice than tying myself down to mundane repeated activities daily?

Clearly it is time to take a lesson from God’s creation again.  If only I could have seen it sooner and recognized my mistake … and jumped off that supersonic jet more quickly.  I am getting off now, and taking time to take in more of God’s beautiful creation and learn even more lessons from it…perhaps a whole new way to stretch that fast paced time envelope.

Enjoying more of Gods creation ... in the Garden

Enjoying more of Gods creation ... in the Garden

Wanna join me?

Much better ... in the Garden

Much better ... in the Garden

Come … walk with me in the Garden

Copyright © 2011, Ophelia Swai. All Rights Reserved.

Tagged: , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Making time … in the Garden

  1. Emad August 15, 2011 at 5:33 pm Reply

    Nice !

  2. Martin bikuri September 5, 2011 at 5:26 pm Reply

    Thanks for keeping this on, I know it takes effort and sacrifice. It is a lesson in itself

  3. Caroline September 6, 2011 at 8:13 am Reply

    Should I join you ??? Hmmmm …. but what happens when “they: let me down ??? 🙂

    • daphinas September 7, 2011 at 4:05 pm Reply

      Feel the fear and do it anyway! have you ever heard that before? Whatever happens, you will handle it… another famous phrase from the same author – Susan Jeffers… would be good to have some company…. will you join me?

Leave a Reply

