Good morning! .. in the Garden

Tap, crunch, tap, shish, tap… the guinea fowl have come by my window and are bustling about under the false marula tree.  It was morning again… time to get up and get ready to go to work. … or maybe I could delay waking up just a little bit… just a little bit… hmmm…

Clop! Shish… tap-clop.  There was something different walking about under the tree.  It was enough to get  me out of bed.. I had to see.  No other creature spent time under the marula tree other than the Dikdik.  Could they have made friends with the guinea fowl?  I had not seen that before…

Yep… there they were, happily chewing on what they needed under the tree, seemingly deftly keeping away from the fruit, but each finding their own source of food.  The Dikdik stopped, or tried to freeze… and apart for the twitching, it nearly did. I was a threat behind that window… with my big body and human smell.  I let the curtain close… no need to disturb them.  It was better to let them be… in peace.

Sharing a spot in the Garden

Sharing a spot in the Garden

The Von der Decken’s Hornbill in the branches of the tree cackled… reminding me of its presence too… I pulled back the curtain a little bit to make sure I was right, even as it turned round to peck about under its wing as if to say, ‘Yes, we are all here, going about our morning business … and it is time for you to get cleaned up too’.

The sun was rising in its usual magnificent way, and after capturing a memory of it, I turned away almost reluctantly … I had work to do.  It was time for me to get ready.  It was another new day, beautiful and free in God’s light…. in God’s presence … in God’s beautiful Garden…

A new day in Gods light and peace in the Garden

A new day in Gods light and peace in the Garden

Come … walk with me in the Garden

Copyright © 2011, Ophelia Swai. All Rights Reserved.

Tagged: , , ,

2 thoughts on “Good morning! .. in the Garden

  1. Mwikali July 15, 2011 at 1:07 pm Reply

    love the description of sounds,

  2. shrinkingthecamel July 17, 2011 at 1:45 pm Reply

    You know, I live in a suburb in America, but I do the same thing every morning as I pull out of the driveway to work: I take a good, long look at the sunrise to capture its memory. And you know what? It’s the same magnificent sun that you see, except a few hours later (earlier?) 🙂

Leave a Reply

