My heart is singing… in the Garden

It is Sunday afternoon again. The birds are chirping in the trees, and a lone Giraffe is standing a couple hundred meters away, quietly watching from its great height. My heart is singing at the peace and quiet, and I am wondering when I will ever enjoy such joy and peace again.

What a sunset! In the Garden

What a sunset! In the Garden

 

I have been walking in this garden for some time now… watching, sharing, working, pondering, learning, and growing. Today, my heart simply sings, and I don’t know why. Perhaps it is just the joy of being at peace with the world in the right way, and at the right time.

Some Zebra are now outside the window… just 5 meters away. They are walking rapidly as if they have somewhere to go. All the while grunting and munching on the grass as they go. As I close my windows and prepare to drive to the village, the zebra stop and look up to make sure they are not becoming prey.

Oh.. the peace in the Garden.

I step out of my front door, and find I have more visitors than I had realized. Just 20m away from the verandah, there is another Giraffe walking and chewing on the leaves in the trees. Even as I take out my camera, I notice that there is another one just behind a bush. I can’t quite see, but at least a Giraffe head is clear among the bushes.

Busy, busy, busy chewing on the leaves in the Garden

Busy, busy, busy chewing on the leaves in the Garden

 

The Zebra have walked a little further away, and are now close to a 3rd Giraffe standing majestically and turned towards me. No movement… he just stands still … frozen for a time.

Standing tall and still... in the Garden

Standing tall and still... in the Garden

 

A few clips later I realize, I really should start moving towards the village, and put my camera away… but not for too long. A warthog is in my way as I drive down the hill… Trot, trot, trotting away, the warthog moves off the road and stops 30m away, never looking back… he has probably forgotten why he moved away from the road in the first place. He then keeps moving… while I put the car in gear and carry on down the hill…

Of I go!  Why did I go?

Of I go! Why did I go?

 

Today is a beautiful day indeed in the Garden.

Come… Walk with me in the Garden.

Copyright © 2010, Ophelia Swai. All Rights Reserved.

Tagged: , , , ,

One thought on “My heart is singing… in the Garden

  1. Ahmed October 25, 2010 at 4:50 am Reply

    Hi Ophy
    You have no idea how lucky you are to enjoy God’s peaceful mix of creations out there in the ‘wild’ or maybe you do. And thanks for sharing….. plenty of nostalgia here and makes me wanna take that vacation NOW!!

Leave a Reply

