A chorus in the Garden

It truly has been an exciting week in the garden…  because there was so much happening.  I have vivid memories of a giraffe starring me down as I drove to my office one afternoon, and another couple startling me from less than 100m away as I locked my door to the house one morning on my way to work.  Yes… this is certainly giraffe season… a season when great height, grace, beauty and silence is the order of the day.

Stare me down..why don't you!

Stare me down..why don't you!

 

So when I suddenly heard the sound of a chorus of birds singing rather loudly outside my office window I had to turn around to see the source of the sounds I was hearing. 

It was a beautiful sight to see as the little birds all of the same size and color, with a small grey crown on their heads and a tail that was dark grey and lined all round in white, swiftly flew to the branch of the tree outside my window and quite literally sang in chorus.  I wish you could hear this. 

When I first heard them, they were only 3, but as I watched, first 2, then 1, then 3 more came and landed on the branches of that tree.  Some then hopped off that branch onto another on the tree.

All the while, as they were singing, they seemed to be looking directly towards me… as if they were singing for me.  My heart was filled to the brim at the wonder of God who created all this, and I smiled and chuckled with glee.

It lasted no more than a minute… maybe 2 minutes, but it was enough for me.

Another day had passed, and God had once again shown me how beautiful His Garden is.

Beauty in the Garden

Beauty in the Garden

 

One by one, by two, by three they left… flying off while singing, and leaving me with the memories of a chorus with the rhythm of a tiny bird’s heartbeat, and the fluttering of little wings moving swiftly through the simmering heat.

So once again I urge you …

Come … Walk with me in the Garden

Copyright (c) 2010. Ophelia Swai. All Rights Reserved

Tagged: , , , ,

2 thoughts on “A chorus in the Garden

  1. Lubna August 8, 2010 at 4:11 pm Reply

    Beautiful as always. I am snuggled in bed reading Gerald Durrell’s books. He too has captured this wonderful world so well.

    • daphinas August 9, 2010 at 11:04 am Reply

      Thanks Lubna,

      Gerald Durrell sounds like a very interesting writer from your story. I hope I will get a chance to read his books some day.

Leave a Reply

