The stone moved!… in the Garden

Every time I look around me or look out my window, whether from inside my house, my office or my car, I have my eyes ever watchful, for that animal or bird that may step or fly in front of me and make my day.  The best place is always my house, because then I usually have all my tools to capture the moment and I can capture it to my heart’s content.  In the car, it is not so easy, because when surrounded by a herd of 50 or more elephants with babies, chances are that they are not very keen to have me with my annoyingly ugly sounding vehicle engine, moving about through the middle of their family… and I don’t always have the right tools to really capture the moment.  Maybe I should get more organized.

Nonetheless, because the creation of God is always around me I am ever watchful and careful not to exceed the speed limit of 40km per hour lest I hit an animal mistakenly.  It was therefore a real wake up call for me, one afternoon as I drove through the Garden.  The rains had stopped and it was a little dusty.  I was rushing through to get to the next place yet had to restrain myself to stay within the speed limit.

Suddenly a stone in the middle of the road moved!  I hit the brakes, realizing that what I had thought was a stone was actually a little tortoise somewhat covered in dust.  It was the tiniest tortoise… or turtle (I cannot yet tell which) I had ever come across and could not have been larger than my two hands cupped together in the shape of a semi-sphere.

I was too late… by the time I hit the brakes the car had moved ahead of where the tortoise (or was it a turtle?) had been.  No… I had not been looking for a tortoise nor a turtle… I was more keen on the wildebeest, buffalo, lions and elephants. I had stopped the vehicle, but was eenly aware that the unthinkable could have happened.  I had not felt any bump through to when I came to a stop, so perhaps it was still safe?

Making my way slowly through the Garden

Making my way slowly through the Garden

I looked in the rear view mirror, just in case… and the tiny little tortoise (..and yes… or turtle) was just about to finish crossing the road, slow, steady and peaceful, as if nothing had happened.  I breathed a sigh of relief and wondered how many others had survived in a similar way.

Yes, this is the Garden and just as the big things in it are beautiful, so are the little things.  It made me wonder how many times we look past the little things we have and fail to enjoy them simply because we are chasing so hard for the big things.  I wondered, how many little blessings we overlook and nearly destroy because we fail to recognize them in time to stop and enjoy them… and then we say, there is nothing good in my garden, it is just dry and dusty.

Are you noticing the little things that are blessings in your life?  Take a moment and look for them … see how wonderful it makes your day… and your stay … in the Garden.

Another sunrise in the Garden

Another sunrise in the Garden

A beautiful moment in the Garden

A beautiful moment in the Garden

Come… Walk with me in the Garden

Copyright (c) 2010. Ophelia Swai. All Rights Reserved

Tagged: , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “The stone moved!… in the Garden

  1. Lubna August 1, 2010 at 4:57 pm Reply

    This is a very beautiful post.

  2. shrinkingthecamel August 1, 2010 at 6:44 pm Reply

    Beautiful! A sweet reminder of the importance of the little things- after all, they fill most of our lives!

    Must be so intersting for you to be living among the wild beasts…

  3. kimuta1 September 1, 2010 at 3:53 am Reply

    Nice point do not have to be big to be important…..

Leave a Reply

