Sharing in the Garden

 Shish… shuish…scratch… shuish…. Something was walking outside my window and I was not sure what it was.  There was always something that came this way every morning, but I only ever hear the shuffling of leaves on the grass, and so far I had managed to put my curiosity aside.

Scratch… shush…scritch… scratch… I had to finish my plan for the day, but my curiosity was getting the better of me.  I could not ignore it another day.  6:15am each morning, they came from the side of the driveway and walked past my side window to the back, without a sound to back their march. At least if they made a sound I would be able to tell what it is.

 

6:15am in the Garden

6:15am in the Garden

 I put my laptop aside. The day’s plan would have to take a short break.  I opened the curtain gently and ever so slowly, trying to make sure whatever it was does not get scared and run away.  The sun was slowly rising in the east and I knew it was going to be another hot day.  These days it just is.

 

The sun slowly rising in the Garden

The sun slowly rising in the Garden

 Scritch, shish, tap, tap, scratch… shuish.

I eventually saw them, right by the window… taking short steps and then pecking at the ground, clearly looking for their staple diet.  It now became clear why I no longer saw the dikdik at this place.  The guinea fowl had taken over the Marula tree and would come to claim their territory every morning at 6:15am.  I wondered where they slept.

 

Spreading light through the Garden

Spreading light through the Garden

 I went back to my day planning all the while thinking…

Last year at the same time of year, the Zebra were all over the place, eating every last blade of grass.  Shortly after them the elephants came through and manicured the garden trees, by pruning the branches off the trees and eating most of the lower leaves.  The giraffe then came by and ate as many of the leaves in the tallest branches as they could reach.  The dikdik couple came next and was busy munching under the Marula tree.  The birds built their nests in the trees and are there to this day.  Now the guinea fowl had taken the place of the dikdik.  This was the same place, but each animal found its own space within the space, and its own time to come to this place.  It seems peace is maintained because each is taking only what they need and leaving the rest.  Simple, yet very effective. 

So I asked myself, “Is our state of constant war as humans in the garden because we have less of what we need, or is it because we have greed?”  I know this may sound simplistic, but I truly like to hear your views on it:  “If we put down everything this planet has on a silver plate, and we all put aside our greed (humor me and assume it is possible), would we not have enough to go round each and every day for every human being?”

Hmmm… yes we also have to work for what we receive, unlike the other species, so perhaps if we also take laziness out of the equation (humor me again and assume it is possible), we might succeed?

Think about it.  I would love to hear what you have to say. 

My views?  I am still learning.  As I continue to watch and learn from our dear friends in my little corner of the garden… I am learning that perhaps there is truly enough for every human being, if we just love as God has commanded us and give to one another in any way we can each and every day.

Wanna join me try this?

Come… Walk with me in the Garden


Copyright (c) 2010. Ophelia Swai. All Rights Reserved

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Sharing in the Garden

  1. Christine Ayoro July 25, 2010 at 7:15 pm Reply

    Really nice blog! I read it for the first time today. There is definitely enough of the world to go around, if we only learn to share and trade for the good of man.

    • daphinas July 29, 2010 at 6:05 pm Reply

      Thanks! Am glad you like it. Hope you enjoy the next one too 🙂

Leave a Reply

