Elephants in the garden

It wasn’t the sunrise that woke me up, nor the alarm that usually rang at 6:00am in the morning. Rather, it was the loudest munching and branch breaking sounds you ever heard…. And they were not on the rampage at all… This was a rather ‘quiet’ stroll through the garden, past my house, one fine Monday morning, by a herd of elephants.

Yes, the breaking of tree branches was what woke me up. It was still quite dark, but I could just make out the silhouette of the elephant herd as they made their way through the garden, in no hurry to get anywhere at all. After all, this is their territory, and I am just a visitor. They have been in and through this garden for generations.

As the sun rose gently in the east, the size of the herd became clear… there were more than 50 elephants – young and old, male and female. They were all round the house, and no matter which room I went to, they were outside that window or door, seemingly oblivious of the fact that I was by now cluttering about the house taking pictures and then getting ready to go to work… and I had left my windows open overnight… if I was lucky they would not smell me or stick their trunks into my bedroom. The first whiff of human and they would most likely panic, though, so no worries about that. We are the super-predeators after all… or not?

Elephants in the garden

Elephants in the garden

As I downed my breakfast, I wondered if they would let me get to work on time … they were visiting rather late … or early. I had filmed enough… so now what? Some network issues needed my attention, and getting late to work was not looking exciting at all.

Hmmm…. In typical God fashion, an angel must have spoken to them, for 5 minutes to 8:00am and they casually walked away into the now fading distant sunrise… and 3 minutes later I was in my office! 🙂

Wanna share my life?

Come – walk with me in the garden….

Serengeti Sunrise

Serengeti Sunrise

See a preview of the video here

Copyright (c) 2009-2010. Ophelia Swai. All Rights Reserved

Tagged: , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Elephants in the garden

  1. rR June 19, 2009 at 6:16 am Reply

    What happened to all the shots of the jumbos that you took?
    Words, beautiful as they are, cannot be an alternative to a picture. Please be generous and share for God has chosen a limited numbers of us to live in paradise right here on earth. Needless to say, you are one of the chosen few. Those of us that have not been so lucky, can only take a glimpse through our words and the lenses of your digicam.
    By the the way, the silver-orange ball in the trees is tantalizing.

  2. Christine July 8, 2009 at 8:21 pm Reply

    I want to be there. I know I’m averse to Twitter but it’s great to read the blog.

  3. Jean Adero July 12, 2009 at 4:19 pm Reply

    Sounds like a good life…keep writing… I’ll read…

  4. Nina April 4, 2010 at 3:30 pm Reply

    That is the coolest thing I’ve ever heard!! I love elephants…until they tromp through my clean house in the form of grown human males!

  5. rR April 12, 2010 at 6:52 am Reply

    Hey girl! You have gone mute on us. You onjeshad us then decided 2 feast on the rest of the buffet alone? Keep it flowing.

    • daphinas May 20, 2010 at 4:08 pm Reply

      Ok… am back! 🙂 Hope you enjoy this one.

      lol

  6. rR May 21, 2010 at 5:58 am Reply

    Karibu!

  7. Laura Sheman July 24, 2010 at 3:37 pm Reply

    Wow, what a wonderful way of life! I love elephants and felt I was there with you that morning, experiencing that wonderful herd with you.

    I’d love to see more pictures if you have them. This is an article I won’t soon forget!

  8. Lubna July 24, 2010 at 5:14 pm Reply

    WoW. Such a big herd. You sure are lucky, they walked away and let you reach the office in time.

  9. […] Come… walk with me in the Garden. […]

  10. Emelina Minero June 3, 2011 at 5:03 pm Reply

    That is soooo cool! To have that terrain, and those beautiful creatures to be part of your daily living.

    I once heard of a person walking outside in her suburban neighborhood to find an elephant walking in the street. It escaped from a circus. Sad for the elephant not to be in its natural environment, but I thought how lucky that girl was to randomly see an elephant outside of her house. And that happened for you, except it was many elephants and in their natural environment. How cool!

Leave a Reply

