Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It has been a long while since I lived inside that little corner of the Garden where the elephants roamed and the wildebeest held sway.  With many beautiful memories to be recalled, I look back and thank God for that opportunity.

I now live on another little corner of the garden … where the people roam and the birds hold sway.   A place where the beginning of my stay in the previous little corner of the Garden is refreshed in my memory… the days when work was done in a boiling hot container, finding the right staff was a nightmare, and the workload always seemed like the Himalaya mountain range… big and never ending, and well… almost insurmountable .  The days when a reprieve from the office container was in the form of a night in a tent … only a cloth away from the most ferocious of beasts… who may or may not spend a night outside … right next to the tent.

Yes, those days were sometimes terrifying, often exhausting, almost always thrilling. … and here I am again.  Only this time, I am more comfortable… in a house, not a tent, in an office building, not a container.  The only similarity between now and then, is that it is another beginning… when no one knows who you are, nor understands what you are trying to do… when the toil seems never ending … when getting the right team together seems a near impossibility … when the nights are spent wondering when the dream that started all this will all come together and become a reality… and the days cannot begin soon enough, yet sometimes come too soon.

I was recently asked about my life by a person I am just getting to know.  I completed my resume in about 3 or 4 sentences.  When I was through, he smiled and said: “You are a builder, you like to build things.”

Huh! I responded that this seemed true, but I never really thought of it that way. I have for  a long time asked myself why I always felt the need to torture myself by starting over and over again.  It suddenly dawns on me that when I felt that the project in my previous little corner of the garden was complete and only needed minor improvements or enhancements here and there, I actually lived in fear of … wait for it… boredom!  I actually lived in fear of repetitive continuation!  Yes, I rather leave that to someone else who has a passion for fine tuning the building. I rather go ahead and start another great and beautiful building.

So now that I know what one of my passions is, I can recall asking God for direction on my life, and over Easter the answer came.  But, if I am a builder, what exactly should I be building?  Teams is one of them… i really enjoy building teams that function well.  But more and more, I find myself attracted to building a business that is a source of joy to all those that have anything to do with it…. and that can be a business in almost anything.  Yes, now I find that instead of fighting the challenge and asking myself why I put myself through it, I should embrace it, because it is what drives me!  Step by step I know I will find a way through anything with God’s grace and saving help.

I thank God for showing me a part of myself I had not recognized, and pray that you who read this will find your answers from God as well.  Are you asking?  Are you listening? Do you already know?  Share with me how you found out and let others know the many different ways to peace in God’s great and beautiful Garden.

Come … walk with me in the Garden.

Copyright © 2013, Ophelia Swai. All Rights Reserved.

